Tatoo Licensing by State

State Issuing Department License Title Requirements Application Link Expiration
Alabama

Alabama

Department of Public Health Body Art Operator's Permit

Current Bloodborne Pathogen Training Certificate Course MUST be approved by ADPH

Online training: http://www.osha.com/courses/bloodborne-pathogens.html

Proof of Hepatitis B Vaccination

Copy of Photo I.D.

Alabama State Health Department: http://www.adph.org/foodsafety/assets/BAFApp.pdf

Apply Here

Bloodborne Pathogens Training

1 Year
Alaska

Alaska

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development Tattooing and Permanent Cosmetic Coloring License

Note: The state of Alaska requires a formal exam for licensure. The requirements listed are those to sit the exam.

Completed Apprenticeship Training of 380 Hours or More (380+)

Notarized Application

Verified Proof of Training Record

Certified Copy of Current CPR and Blood Borne Pathogens Card

Online training: http://www.osha.com/courses/bloodborne-pathogens.html

If trained outside of Alaska: Completed Affidavit Confirming Study of the Statute and Regulation Booklet

Apply Here

Bloodborne Pathogens Training

August 31st of Every Odd Numbered Year
Arizona No License Required No License Required N/A N/A
Arkansas Arkansas Department of Public Health Tattoo Artist, Permanent Cosmetic Artist, Body Piercer or Brander License

Note: The state of Arkansas requires a formal exam for licensure. The requirements listed are those to sit the exam.

Completed Apprenticeship (minimum of 6 months, maximum of 24 months)

375 Completed Clock Hours of Supervised Body Art Work (Log Submitted by Trainer)

Certified Copy of Current CPR and Blood Borne Pathogens Card

Online training: http://www.osha.com/courses/bloodborne-pathogens.html

If applying for licensure as a permanent cosmetic artist, must provide a copy of high school diploma or GED

View Application Requirements Here

Arkansas requires a request in writing for an application and testing information.

Bloodborne Pathogens Training

December 31 of Each Year
California Managed By County Health Departments

While licensing is managed by each individual county, the state has basic requirements including:

LEA-Approved Bloodborne Pathogen Course Completion Certificate

Hepatitis B Vaccination

Bloodborne Pathogens Training County Dependent For detail requirements, please call your county
Colorado Managed By County Health Departments

While licensing is managed by each individual county, the state has basic requirements including:

LEA-Approved Bloodborne Pathogen Course Completion Certificate

Hepatitis B Vaccination

Red Cross CPR and First Aid Certification

Bloodborne Pathogens Training County Dependent For detail requirements, please call your county
Connecticut Does Not Require License As of this writing, Connecticut does not require licensing, but House Bill 6590 (sHB 6590) passed unanimously last year (May 2013), and licensing programs should be expected in the near future. N/A N/A
Delaware Does Not Require License Delaware requires the registration of shops and shop owners must have a permit from the Health Department, but no individual license is required. N/A N/A
Florida Florida Department of Health Tattoo Artist License

Certificate of Completion for Bloodborne Pathogens and Communical Diseases Course (Score of 70% or Greater)

Online training: http://www.osha.com/courses/bloodborne-pathogens.html

Copy of Government-Issued ID

Apply Here Yearly
Georgia Managed By County Health Departments While licensing is managed by each individual county, many counties have not yet established rules for licensing. The state is aiming for 100% compliance in 2014. N/A N/A
Hawaii State of Hawaii Department of Health State of Hawaii Tattoo Artist License

Proof of Completion of Bloodborne Pathogens Course from an Approved Location

Completed Tuberculosis and Syphilis Report Form (Hepatitis B vaccine is strongly recommended.)

Apply Here

Bloodborne Pathogens Training

On January 31 of Each Year
Idaho Does Not Require License Idaho requires the registration of shops and shop owners must have a permit from the Health Department, but no individual license is required N/A N/A
Illinois Does Not Require License Illinois requires the registration of shops and shop owners must have a permit from the Health Department, but no individual license is required. It does, however, required ALL artists to complete an OSHA-approved Bloodborne Pathogens course. Online training is available via http://www.osha.com/courses/bloodbornepathogens.html

Click here 

Bloodborne Pathogens Training

N/A
Indiana Does Not Require License Indiana requires the registration of shops and shop owners must have a permit from the Health Department, but no individual license is required. It does, however, required ALL artists to complete a OSHA-approved Bloodborne Pathogens course. Bloodborne Pathogens Training N/A
Iowa Iowa Department of Public Health Tattoo Artist License

High School Diploma or GED

Proof of Bloodborne Pathogen Training Completion

AHA First Aid Training

Completed Application With Included Permit Questions

Apply Here

Bloodborne Pathogens Training

On December 31 of Each Year
Kansas Kansas Board of Cosmetology Body Art Practitioner License

Note: The state of Kansas requires a formal exam for licensure. The requirements listed are those to sit the exam.

Completion of Board-Approved Body Art Training Program

Proof of High School Diploma or GED

Certificate of Completed Bloodborne Pathogens Course

Copy of Consent Forms for 50 Performed Procedures During Apprenticeship

Completed Application With Proof of Age & Identification

Apply Here for Required Apprenticeship

Apply Here for Exam

Bloodborne Pathogens Training

1 Year
Kentucky Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services Primarily Managed By County Health Departments Kentucky requires all tattoo artists be registered with the county health department in which they will be working and requires registration of tattoo shops and an annual inspection of the premises but gives no formal requirements for artist training. N/A 1 Year
Louisiana Does Not Require License Louisiana requires the registration of shops and shop owners must have a permit from the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, but no individual license is required. N/A N/A
Tennessee Tennessee Department of Health

Tattoo Artist must be licensed and permitted to operate https://www.tn.gov/health/article/eh-tattoo

TN Tattoo License Requirements: https://www.tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/Tattoo_law.pdf

Apply Here 1 year
New York New York Department of Health

https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/body-piercing-andtattooing-guidelines

Tattoo License Online Application https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/tattoo-license

The NYC Health Code requires that anyone who applies for a Tattoo Artist License successfully complete the infection control course.

Apply here 1 year
Texas Texas Department of Health Tattoo License Requirements https://www.dshs.texas.gov/tattoo-piercing/forms.aspx Apply Here 1 year
Washington Washington Department of Health

To get an artist license, you must Be at least 18 years old. Have a current bloodborne pathogens certificate. To learn where you can get this training, see Training resources.

Tattoo Requirements http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/tattoo/

Apply Here 1 year